RssFwd

RssFwd is really nice. The idea basically is that you subscribe to an RSS feed and get new items to your email. If you read many feeds, you create a filter in your mail program for rssfwd@rssfwd.com and then messages don’t fill up your inbox. Also you can search them, sort, flag, forward, delete etc with you mail client, not having to learn a new UI for some RSS client.

That’s the way 90% of the people would use RSS, IM(very)HO. In fact I like this idea so much that I actually had it even before I ever heard of RssFwd, using a couple of PHP scripts I built myself and hosted on the web specifically for this purpose. When I discovered RssFwd I switched to it instead, since it works just as well, doesn’t cost me hosting, and allows me to return to my normal do-nothing Zenlike bliss. (I might post my homegrown PHP RSS-to-email scripts here someday when I get over the intimidation of exposing that dubious code. Currently I’m still working on the intimidation of exposing my dubious blog entries)

I wonder how come it’s not more commonly used. Do RSS (or Atom, or whatever) folks really expect their grandmas to use a dedicated RSS client? Or even register + learn the interface for some web based aggregator service? Haven’t we all suffered enough getting our grandmas to use email? More on grandmas, RSS, registrations & email later.

Leave a Reply

